HOME


CONTACT ME

wp6e4fb020.jpg

Home
Celiac Introduction
Gluten & Wheat Free Foods
Gluten Free Flour Facts 1
Gluten Free Flour Facts 2

Snacks & Starters
Soups
Salads
Rice & Pasta
Fish

Kosher Introduction
Permitted Kosher Foods
Pesach Pages
Pesach Recipe Index
My Kitchen Equipment
My Store Cupboard

Meat
Poultry
Vegetarian Mains
Vegetables

Cooking Conversion Charts
Other Interesting Items
Links
Contact Me


Breads
Baking - Cakes
Baking - Cookies/Biscuits
Deserts
Pastry

CLICK TO ORDER YOUR COPY OF THE KOSHER CELIAC’S PASSOVER E-COOKBOOK

anneluder.co.uk
Interesting and Informative Garden Talks for Horticultural Societies
& Other Groups (U3A WI etc) within London & Surrounding CountiesUK

Gluten and Wheat Free Foods


As most wheat freebies know there are some foods one just has to avoid.

Those are the easy ones although I do give a list below. It's the hidden wheat and gluten that are the problems and one does tire of having to read labels all the time.

The Coeliac Society in the UK, & the
Celiac Disease Foundation
in The States publishes lists of foods that are suitable - though not all are kosher. Other countries also have societies and lists.

These guides are excellent if you keep them up to date and combine it with a kosher guide to help you with that part if you keep kosher. Symbols on packets and warning areas are a good source of information and they are improving all the time, as are the ranges available to us. So keep a wary eye. The crossed grain is now becoming fairly worldwide and I have found, when traveling, that by checking the country I am visiting coeliac society’s website I can find my needs in most places without having to carry too much food with me. However, I feel that there is nothing to beat home cooked food.

At least you know what's in it and what is not added.

The Forbidden Foods

All wheat including - pasta, bulgar, couscous, semolina, wheat starch and malt. This includes cakes, biscuits, rusks and breads unless marked as suitable.

Barley, Rye, Spelt and Oats all contain a protein similar to wheat gluten which can cause problems and should not be included in a coeliac diet. Many find that they cannot tolerate millet flakes - my niece included - but seem ok with the flour whilst others tolerate neither. My niece also has trouble with soy flour but is fine with the beans and soy sauce. It just depends on how sensitive you are or whether you have an extra intolerance. Whatever there are always other foods.

Watch out for Beer, Lager, Whisky, etc that are grain based except for one's made specifically for us.

MSG can often be made from wheat starch and personally why use a flavour enhancer when cooking from scratch, and I know all to many people who prefer not to have MSG as they react to it.

Products with food starch are a real hazard and this can include margarine - so check the labeling.

Barley malt contains gluten try using a tiny touch of treacle to replace it if you need that kick and you are not diabetic. It is this malt that is often found in commercial cereals such as corn flakes or rice “pops” - and makes what would otherwise be readily available and edible by coeliacs a no no.

Use cider, balsamic or wine vinegar as guess what, malt vinegar is out. If you have some wine that is no longer suitable for drinking store it in the fridge and you will have your own home made wine vinegar. Or if you don’t want to waste it, reduce it to half by boiling in a pan, allow to cool and then freeze in an ice tray to enrich stocks/stews.

These may contain wheat flour as a carrier or thickener so watch it:

·

Gravy powders

·

Mustard

·

Baking powder

·

Soy Sauce

·

White pepper

·

Curry powder and spice mixes

·

Muesli

·

Instant Deserts

·

Flavoured crisps

·

Sauces

·

Ready prepared meals and soups

·

Drinking chocolate and some coffee mixes

·

Sausages and Salamis

·


If you feel adventurous - There are a number of other flours you may wish to try such as sorghum or buckwheat, yam, coconut, sago or tapioca but these are not easy to come by and have quite definite flavours which for some are an acquired taste - try searching the web or try a good reliable West Indian or Indian grocer or even your local supermarket.